Posted by: mckenzie | October 31, 2008

africa as of lately…

I’m so bad at blogging, I’m so sorry. Don’t lose faith in me, I always comeback strong.

Anyways, Africa as of lately has been… surprisingly busy. But in such a good way. I feel like we are finally getting the hang of everything here, and Africa is finally starting to feel a little bit like home (but no worries people in Charlotte/Chapel Hill, I won’t get too comfortable). I really feel blessed to be here for an entire semester, and not just a few weeks because I really feel like it has taken me this long to get completely acclimated to the culture here. Of course, it’s Africa, and there are still things that shock me about this culture everyday, but it’s definitely starting to feel more normal to see naked people everyday, or cows just chilling on the side of the road.

On monday, Carly and I had an incredible opportunity to take a tour of the Ghana UNICEF building. We had a connection through a highschool mate of Carly’s who’s mom has worked at Ghana UNICEF for 17 years now. If you don’t know, UNICEF stands for the United Nation’s Children’s Fund and is a nonprofit that is constantly working towards educating children, improving water sanitation, giving immunizations to children, and raising up women to take leadership roles in communities. Pretty much everything I am interested in doing for the rest of my life. It made me so confident in the fact that I am supposed to major in Child Development and Family Studies and that there are so many opportunities in this field. I got so excited about the fact that my major could enable me to get a job that is solely based on serving and empowering and bringing up strong women in children in communities, even in my own country! Such an inspiring day.

We took a field trip last weekend for our Art History class to a few different art museums around town. It was so much fun and again so inspiring to see all of these striving artists living on almost nothing, but doing what they love to do. I’m so not an artsy person, as much as I wish that I was.. but for some reason African art just reminds me that we are all creative in our own ways, it’s all about how you channel your creativity and what you direct it towards. I know that I can’t paint a mural or carve a sculpture, but I also know that I work well with people and am creative in how I lead others. Creativity is all about perspective and perception.

I went to all of my classes this week, meaning not a single one was cancelled.. big week in Ghana. Classes end in two week which is just crazy, and I come home in 49 days or something outrageous like that.

Tonight.. being Halloween and all, some of us International kids are going to try to introduce Ghana to Halloween, because Halloween is about the only thing Africans don’t celebrate. Tonight should consist of bobbing for apples in dirty water, carving watermelons instead of pumpkins (gotta improvise), and trick or treating for.. I don’t know.. maybe groundnuts? Cause you know they don’t have candy in Africa and I’m not about to sacrifice any of my precious sour patch kids. We’ll see how it goes and I’ll definitely have some picture to post soon!

I promise to be better about blogging this next week! I love and miss you all!

Responses

  1. One year when we were living in Uganda, so of our friends hosted a halloween party for a little group of americans. It was really fun and refreshing. Hope you have fun at your party!


Leave a Reply

Categories

