Posted by: mckenzie | December 4, 2008

a dozen days..

..is all i have left here in Africa? Crazy!

I’m so excited to be home (just in time for the BEST time of the year), but it’s also starting to get bittersweet as the international student population is thinning out by the day. Each day a few more people leave, and it’s just getting sad to have to say bye to people every single day. My turn will come soon enough. Cant believe how the time has flown by.

So, as you all know, Capetown was WONDERFUL. Such a beautiful place and such a relaxing week for Carly and I. We visited Robben Island where Nelson Mandela was in prison for 18 years. It was super informative and really surreal to be there. We also got to go wine tasting (i’m legal here, I swear!) in the incredibly beautiful wine country in South Africa. Sunday morning we hit up Hillsong Capetown for a 10:00 worship service. The worship was wonderful and it just made me want to hurry up and get back to my favorite church in the world. We got to do so many things and see so many incredible sights. I just feel so blessed to have this opportunity to travel around this incredible continent.

We missed our flight on the way back to Ghana (not our fault), so South African Airways put us up in a super nice hotel for 3 days and two nights with room service, hot showers, steak dinners, chocolate mousse and other things that made us feel like we weren’t anywhere near Africa.

We got back to Ghana just in time for Thanksgiving, so a bunch of us crowded around 2 hot plates in our hostel kitchen to try to make something that somehow resembled a Thanksgiving meal. Someone picked up a roasted chicken (from who knows where) and threw together anything green they could find (there isn’t much) for a salad. Thanks to the stove top stuffing, mash potatoes, and macaroni and cheese sent by the parents, it ended up being somewhat successful and made for some great Africa memories. I have so much to be thankful for this year; amazing parents, brothers, extended family, friends, boyfriend, church, and everyone that has been praying for me and thinking about me during the last 4 months. I am so blessed.

Now that Thanksgiving is over, I’m getting more and more excited about Christmas, especially as I read people’s blogs from back home and see family photos. Ahh, Christmas time will be so sweet this year! It’s so hard to imagine that the Christmas season is here, considering I just spent the past five days laying on a beach (and getting tan, of course:)) and swimming in the ocean. Be jealous.

Keep praying for me over the next 12 days. This is been such a journey for me and I know it would not have been what is was without the daily thoughts and prayers sent my way, I am so grateful for all of you. Lots of love from Ghana.

Beautiful, beautiful Capetown.

meandc2

More hiking days.

me3

Carly and I looking super sophisticated.

meandc

Our happiest day in Kalk Bay, our favorite artsy town with the BEST coffee shops.

me4

Responses

  1. WOOO! Only 12 days! So exciting!!! I’m glad to hear you had such a wonderful time in South Africa and a successful thanksgiving. Carly seems to have alot of trouble with international flights as it happened to us coming back from Colombia. Maybe you should find new friends to travel with. Anyways, can’t wait until you are back in Charlotte and I’ll continue to pray for you until then!

  2. Counting down the days til you get back…you are bringing presents RIGHT?!?! I put your picture on the dinning room table when we ate at Thanksgiving…Can’t wait for you to get home..I am so proud of you and excited you got to take this trip…I love you very much !!!!!

  3. Ohh by the way…where can I miss one of those flights?? That was some well deserved me time for the 2 of you..not to mention princess diva time…glad you had fun….

  4. CAN’T WAIT FOR YOU TO BE HOME

  5. I can’t believe you will be home so soon! I’m so glad your trip has been so amazing, can’t wait to see you in a couple weeks ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you and have a safe trip home!

  6. im so glad you had fun in capetown!!
    loooveee you!!! cant wait to see you!!!! this is going to be the best reunion everrrr!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    lovee to the moon and back!

  7. ONE MORE WEEK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. only a week chenzie! i am so excited to be home, and the best part is that you will be coming home too. ive missed you greatly through these past few months, so have the Gosselins, you have a lot to catch up on with the little kids ๐Ÿ™‚
    i love you very much twin.
    and love from the great state of alabama to Ghana!

  9. Kenzzz!!! i seriously can’t wait….praying for your last days in Africa.

    love you.

  10. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow!!!!! I am sure saying good bye was hard. Praying for safe travel, no delays and sweet dreams while you fly(of course, that is if you can sleep!!!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

